helen amyes

from the studio

11th Jan 2017

Leave a comment

working in series

ideas board and small collages

Making a body of work,is an important stage in the development of any visual artist.Firstly now I do try to “start with the end in mind” i.e. where do I envisage this work going to be seen/exhibited.In the example above, the end goal was a large painting for submission to the Glover landscape exhibition.Having said that where possible I do use material created for as many applications as I can i.e. some of the collages in the picture went on to become textile designs, home decor items,prints and cards.I used to use visual diaries a lot to build ideas and collect research, but now i take an A1 sized sheet of MDF painted white [ or several] and make an ideas board with photos,sketches,textiles,painted colour tests etc. This creates a bigger visual field and reminder, and from it I carry on to paint and collage,play ,construct and destruct, pinning up the works on a wall, until I have something I like enough to work onto canvas. I like the work to take on a life of its own, and have some ambiguity and not be too controlled i.e. tight, so working in this way with paper mostly at first keeps things free and inexpensive. Some bodies of work go straight off into the world and some remain incubating awaiting completion. The experience of making work in series is a vital part of my practice now and a way to try to keep myself on track.

 

 

 

 

Author: helen amyes

English/Aussie Visual Artist based in the historic town of York, in the Wheatbelt of Western Australia. I've been described as a "painter with a fluid approach". So although painting and drawing are my first language so to speak, i enjoy creating film photograph,textiles,visual poetry and even the occasional sound or performance project. Really i feel the medium needs be the best to express the idea. Much of my work is collaborative in the form of assembling books where each artist contributes an art work/page which is then bound. Also mail art which is often exhibited as an egalitarian installation. I also do some design work for sale via Red Bubble, Saatchi Art sites and local galleries.

Leave a Reply

